Typology

You will notice that the medieval swords presented in the galleries all have a "type" either in title or at the beginning of description. It is not the century that is highlighted here but its classification in the so-called "Oakeshott" typology.
 
Ewart Oakeshott was a British collector of swords. His research has produced a classification of swords according to their blade, pommel and guard shape. Its typology is the most used and is the subject of research to improve it even today.

It's not the only grading method there is, and there are many others for different weapons.
Several specialists have studied the case of swords from the Middle Ages, but Mr Oakeshott has classified so many sources that his books have become the research axis for those who wish to find their way in the vast world of medieval swords.
You don't have to know the shapes of blades and pommels by heart to appreciate a sword, but your attraction to a particular type helps us to offer you other sources from the same family.


Here is what this typology looks like in its latest version:

Typologie Oakeshott.png

As said before, other classifications exist.
Here is Petersen's concerning the handles of Scandinavian swords, from the 9th to the 12th century:

petersen-typology.jpg

To go further we recommend the section "our sources", several books and links are available.

​​

Typologie

Vous remarquerez que les épées médiévales présentées dans les galeries ont toutes un « type » que ce soit en titre ou en début de description. Ce n’est pas le siècle qui est mis en avant ici mais son classement dans la typologie dite de « Oakeshott ».

 

Ewart Oakeshott était un collectionneur d’épées d’origine britannique. Son travail de recherche a permis de produire un classement d’épées en fonction de leur forme de lame, de pommeau et de garde. Sa typologie est la plus utilisée et fait l’objet de recherches pour l’améliorer encore aujourd’hui.

 

Ce n’est pas la seule méthode de classement qui soit et il en existe beaucoup d'autres pour différentes armes.

Plusieurs spécialistes se sont penchés sur le cas des épées du bas moyen-âge mais Mr Oakeshott a classé tant et tant de sources que ses livres sont devenus l’axe de recherche pour qui souhaite s’y retrouver dans le vaste monde des épées médiévales.

Nul besoin de connaître par cœur les formes de lames et de pommeaux pour apprécier une épée mais votre attirance pour un type particulier nous aide à vous proposer d’autres sources issues de la même famille.

 

 

Voici à quoi ressemble cette typologie dans sa dernière version :

Comme dit précédemment, d'autres classifications existent.

Voici celle de Petersen concernant les poignées d'épées scandinaves, du IXème au XIIème siècle

Pour aller plus loin nous vous conseillons la section « nos sources », plusieurs livres et liens sont proposés.

Atelier Thibaud

Forgerons d'épées - Swordsmiths

© 2020 par Nastasia Kaynar & Solène Allard

Carcassonne

France

atelierthibaud@gmail.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram