Our approach

Whether forging a sharp sword for reenactment, a simulator for practice or a ceremonial sword, we strive for excellence, both aesthetic and practical. It starts with the forge. The steel is hot worked, the blade stretches with each hammer blow and we work all the elements with attention and meticulousness, as close as possible from artisanal techniques. The beauty of a sword lies in its finishes, its personalizations as well as in the harmony of these forms and measures.

 

It is essential for high-end weapons that their aesthetics directly reflect their richness. It's a whole different story when taken in hand, a sword can be beautiful but uncomfortable and that's why practicality is just as important.

 

Archeology and the development of historical reconstruction have always brought their share of demanding projects and in-depth studies based on historical sources. Recently the development of “Historical European Martial Arts” (def. HEMA), has brought a new vision: to see the sword as a tool for a martial and sporting practice.

As practitioners of this discipline, we are used to handling medieval swords. Our goal, as craftsmans and fencers, is to forge the swords as consistent as possible with our experience and current knowledge which is constantly evolving.

Nevertheless, our knowledge is not enough compared to the diversity of types of swords and martial traditions that the Middle Ages knew. This is why we supplement our knowledge with the study of historical pieces directly in the museums and that we improve it by facing more and more practitioners.

 

Each project is studied from material sources (museum / private collection swords) and written sources (scientific publications, literature, iconography) in order that each sword produced is as close as possible to history and improves our knowledge and understanding of the sword in its own way.

 

In this manner we offer different ranges:

- Uniform steel swords:

We produce sharp, homogeneous or secure steel blades (simulators) intended for martial and sports practice. Aimed at fencers conscientious of their practice, we decide to leave sharp edges to these simulators so as to have a more coherent weight, balance and working response.

- Layered steel swords:

Layered steel (damascus steel) corresponds to a hot working technique of the material (wrought) which aims to weld in the forge several qualities of steel which will give at the end contrasts and designs on the polished surface. It corresponds as well to a demand for aesthetics, by the variety of designs that can be forged in steel, as to a demand for historicity thanks to the essentially Merovingian and Scandinavian swords of the early Middle Ages.

. - Old and artisanal steel swords:

We have several old steels, dating from before the industrial revolution to the last century. We offer you for collection and ceremonial weapons to forge the blade and why not the pommel and the crossguard in these old steels. They have unique texture and color, and its polishing will reveal the character of its small imperfections.

Our ranges of swords go from the simplest weapon for the passionate, to the most finely crafted sword for the most demanding of you. Several options are available to customize each order:

- engraving, performed by chisel

- acid etching, where the pattern to be engraved is printed in the steel using acids

- damascening, embedding of non-ferrous metals in steel such as silver, brass, copper, gold

- enameling, any engraving can be completed with colored enamel

- the relic inlay, in the pommel or the grip

Atelier Thibaud

Forgerons d'épées - Swordsmiths

© 2020 par Nastasia Kaynar & Solène Allard

Carcassonne

France

atelierthibaud@gmail.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Notre démarche

    

        Que l’on forge une épée tranchante pour la reconstitution, un simulateur pour la pratique ou une épée de cérémonie, nous ne cherchons que l’excellence, autant esthétique que pratique.

Cela commence par la forge. L’acier est travaillé à chaud, la lame s’étire à chaque coup de marteau et nous travaillons tous les éléments avec attention, au plus près des techniques artisanales.

La beauté d’une épée se situe aussi bien dans ses finitions, ses personnalisations que dans l’harmonie de ces formes et de ces mesures.

C’est indispensable pour des armes haut de gamme que leur esthétisme reflète directement leur richesse. C’est une tout autre histoire quand elle est prise en main, une épée peut être belle et inconfortable et c’est pourquoi la dimension pratique est tout aussi importante.

        L’archéologie et le développement de la reconstitution historique ont depuis toujours apporté leurs lots de projets exigeants et d'études poussées basées sur des sources historiques. Récemment le développement des « Arts Martiaux Historiques Européens » (def. AMHE), a amené une nouvelle vision: voir l'épée comme un outil d'une pratique à but martial et sportif.

Etant pratiquants de cette discipline, nous sommes habitués au maniement d’épées médiévales. Notre but, en tant qu’artisan et escrimeur, est de forger les épées les plus cohérentes possibles avec notre expérience et les connaissances actuelles qui ne cessent d’évoluer.

         Malgré tout cela nos savoirs ne sauraient suffire comparé à la diversité de types d’épées et de traditions martiales que le Moyen-Age a connues. Voilà pourquoi nous complétons nos connaissances avec l’étude de pièces historiques directement dans les musées et que nous les améliorons en se confrontant à des pratiquants de plus en plus nombreux.


      Chaque projet est étudié à partir de sources matérielles (épées de musée/de collection privée) et de sources écrites (publications scientifiques, littératures, iconographie) de manière à ce que chaque épée produite soit au plus proche de l'histoire et qu'elle améliore à sa façon nos connaissances et notre compréhension de l'épée.

De cette façon nous proposons différentes gammes:

- les épées en acier homogène:
Nous produisons des lames tranchantes en acier homogène ou sécurisées (simulateurs) destinées à la pratique martiale et sportive. A destination des escrimeurs consciencieux de leur pratique, nous décidons de laisser des tranchants fins à ces simulateurs de manière à avoir un poids, un équilibre et une réponse de travail plus cohérents.

- les épées en acier feuilleté:
L'acier feuilleté (damas) correspond à une technique de travail à chaud de la matière (corroyage) qui vise à souder à la forge plusieurs qualités d'acier qui donneront à la fin des contrastes et des dessins sur la surface polie. Il correspond aussi bien à une demande d'esthétisme, par la variété des dessins que l'on peut forger dans l'acier, qu'à une demande d'historicité grâce aux épées essentiellement mérovingiennes et scandinaves du haut moyen-âge.

- les épées en acier ancien et artisanal:
Nous disposons de plusieurs aciers anciens, datant d'avant la révolution industrielle jusqu'au siècle dernier. Nous vous proposons pour les armes de collection et de cérémonie de forger la lame et pourquoi pas le pommeau et la garde dans ces vieux aciers. Ils ont une texture et une couleur uniques comme on en fait plus, et son polissage révélera le caractère de ses petites imperfections.

Nos gammes d'épées vont de l'arme la plus simple pour le passionné, à l'épée la plus finement ouvragée pour les plus exigeants d'entre vous. Plusieurs options sont disponibles pour personnaliser chaque commande:


- la gravure, pratiquée à l'échoppe et au burin à main
- la gravure à l'eau forte, où le motif à graver est imprimé dans l'acier grâce à des acides
- le damasquinage, incrustation de métaux non ferreux dans l'acier tels que l'argent, le laiton, le cuivre, l'or
- l'émaillage, toute gravure peut être complétée d'un émail coloré
- l'incrustation de relique, dans le pommeau ou la fusée.

Atelier Thibaud

Forgerons d'épées - Swordsmiths

© 2020 par Nastasia Kaynar & Solène Allard

Carcassonne

France

atelierthibaud@gmail.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram